Five Reasons I Am Pursuing a Career in Web3

Five Reasons I Am Pursuing a Career in Web3

Breaking the barriers for others pursuing Web3 while building a better world

·

6 min read

For those following my journey, you may have noticed I knew absolutely nothing about blockchain technology before August 2021. I was on my way to becoming a full-stack web developer, creating cute little CSS references, and tweeting the most cringe jokes about JavaScript.

Now, I'm tweeting about $300 whale jpegs and cryptocurrency. Was it a case of shiny object syndrome?

For context, in July, I was allowed to learn blockchain development through Decentology's Fast Floward Bootcamp. The Bootcamp was a well-curated and interactive experience to help developers build in the Flow ecosystem.

After this, I dove into what is Web3 and how it could impact the world at large. I saw numerous posts detailing how Web3 is the next revolution in technology and how its technology will enable the creator economy. This innovation piqued my interest; we deserve a world where everybody can thrive and participate in this tech revolution in multiple capacities. I want to build a world like that.

fabio-oyXis2kALVg-unsplash.jpeg

I have many reasons why I decided to continue learning about Web3, but for the sake of brevity, I will only highlight the top five:

1. Decentralization is a start to a more equitable world.

This is my first and foremost reason for moving into Web3. If you are not making a positive impact with the work you do, why do it?

Working for non-profits and small companies has made me realize the profound impact technology has on our society. After all, modern technology emerged to solve problems and improve our world.

One of the many well-known applications of this technology we observe is cryptocurrency or DeFi (decentralized finance). This medium of digital currency is slowly disrupting traditional financial institutions and paving the way towards an equitable world.

How does cryptocurrency drive us towards more equity?

For starters, cryptocurrency has the potential to break financial barriers across borders. People across the globe can trade with each other, potentially stimulating economic growth in every area that participates.

In addition to this, it reduces overall transaction fees in the long run. Most of our transactions currently are processed by some central institution or third party, often requiring real estate, employees, utilities, etc. With lower transaction fees, trading goods will cost less over time, benefiting the consumer. It will also decrease the time required to process transactions as automated systems are available 24/7 and not closed after 5 pm.

Lastly, the transparency that blockchain technology offers is essential in reducing fraud. Investigating transactions from an entity such as the government will help reduce corruption, as more people will see how their contributions get distributed. These transactions cannot be manipulated by any corporation or individual since it is all immutably stored on the Blockchain.

2. I believe you should own your data.

In this day and age, our data is passed around to advertisers and third parties like a giant game of corporate hot potato. Not only do these corporations profit off this data, but your data also is not always secure under their systems. As developers, we may have seen how difficult it is fully secure software.

Consider something like our medical records stored in some hospital's software system. To move this data to a new location, we have a tedious process. Sometimes, this process even involves manually adding that data again to a new system. Records can get lost, and it requires dedicated labor to maintain these storages of information.

How secure our data is in these systems is another question we should be pondering. We see news of data breaches very regularly and realize how little control we have over these attacks.

With blockchain technology, it would be possible to hold your medical records privately and securely. You would give certain entities access to it, ensuring the right party receives the data and stores it securely on the Blockchain.

The application of security, transparency, and owning your data does not only benefit medical records. Imagine this technology applied to government-issued IDs, passports, or any other applications requiring magnitudes of sensitive data. This system makes it not only convenient but also provides security.

3. I want to introduce more people to the Blockchain.

Blockchain is not always easy to understand, especially for those who are not technically literate. This unease causes apprehension and a rise in misinformation. Not to mention, many people are intimidated by Blockchain and its impacts on our society or environment. A lot of this stems from clickbait headlines and emotional decision-making based on misinformation. My goal is to understand and decrease the apprehension by bringing awareness of how Web3 works and the actual positive and negative implications.

After that, anyone can decide for themselves how they feel about the technology. My mission isn't about conversion and creating a cult of blockchain enthusiasts; it's about awareness of a technology that can potentially change the world.

4. I want to challenge myself.

In all honesty, ever since I started doing computer science, I have struggled a lot. There were times when I felt I wasn't fit for the field. I stuck to what I was good at and never tried new things.

I quickly learned that staying in your comfort zone stagnates growth. In a world where technology is constantly changing with new systems surfacing, it's vital to understand them and how they impact you as soon as possible.

Learning Blockchain is indeed a marathon that I intend to carry out as a personal and professional goal.

5. I want to inspire other women to explore Blockchain.

I have spent the last two and a half years working on helping to decrease the gender gap in technology with several non-profit organizations. I taught coding classes to girls through various topics such as games and web development. Most importantly, I wanted to inspire and show these girls that a career in technology is an option for them.

We have seen time and again that some areas in tech have become a 'boys club.' I think this is especially true for Blockchain from areas like trading or investing, blockchain development, or even management or executive roles within blockchain companies where women are composing less than a quarter of these roles. I am eager to promote organizations such as Blockchain Girls and She256 and inspire through my work exploring Web3.

My life has positively changed as I worked towards building my career and working towards financial freedom. I feel liberated and secure, as no matter how bleak any day becomes, I have the skills and the security to overcome any hardship. The women in my life paved this path for me, and now I intend to pave that path for others.


Having these five purposes has driven me to learn about Web3 every single day. I want to share these ideas with those I care about and those hungering to change the world. An equitable world or even a start towards equity would transform many people's lives and help many countries flourish. Owning our data and storing it with security will provide better software and identification solutions. Introducing other developers and users to Blockchain will allow us to adapt this technology more quickly and safely. Having a personal challenge will allow me to grow as an individual and hone my skills as a developer advocate. Lastly, I will continue inspiring other women and girls to explore Blockchain. Blockchain technology is not for everyone until everyone is involved in its creation.

Credits:

Image of blocks: Photo by fabio on Unsplash

Did you find this article valuable?

Support samina by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!